• go to Vinton Cerf's profile page
  • go to Maurice V. Wilkes's profile page
  • go to John E Hopcroft's profile page
  • go to Kenneth E. Iverson 's profile page
  • go to Leonard M. Adleman's profile page
  • go to Butler W Lampson's profile page
  • go to Alfred V Aho's profile page
  • go to Leslie G Valiant's profile page
  • go to A. J. Perlis 's profile page
  • go to Robert E Tarjan's profile page
  • go to John Cocke 's profile page
  • go to E. Allen Emerson's profile page
  • go to Pat Hanrahan's profile page
  • go to Dana S Scott's profile page
  • go to Barbara Liskov's profile page
  • go to Charles P. Thacker's profile page
  • go to Joseph Sifakis's profile page
  • go to Peter Naur's profile page
  • go to Leslie Lamport's profile page
  • go to John L Hennessy's profile page
  • go to Amir Pnueli's profile page
  • go to John McCarthy's profile page
  • go to Allen Newell 's profile page
  • go to Herbert A. Simon's profile page

Please note that the following change to the ACM A. M. Turing Award nomination process is currently in effect:

Nominators and endorsers for the ACM A. M. Turing Award will now be required to indicate whether they are aware of any action committed by the candidate/s that violates the ACM Code of Ethics and ACM’s Core Values. See the Policy for Honors Conferred by ACM


  • Technical excellence
  • Education and technical advancement
  • Ethical computing and technology for positive impact
  • Diversity and inclusion

1.1 Contribute to society and to human well-being, acknowledging that all people are stakeholders in computing.
1.2 Avoid harm.
1.3 Be honest and trustworthy.
1.4 Be fair and take action not to discriminate.
1.5 Respect the work required to produce new ideas, inventions, creative works, and computing artifacts.
1.6 Respect privacy.
1.7 Honor confidentiality.

For questions on the above please contact acm-awards@acm.org

How to Nominate



The A. M. Turing Award is ACM's oldest and most prestigious award. It is presented annually to an individual who has made lasting contributions of a technical nature to the computing community. The award is presented each June at the ACM Awards Banquet and is accompanied by a prize of $1,000,000 plus travel expenses to the banquet. Financial support for the award is provided by Google Inc.

Next Deadline

December 15, 2022 - End of Day, Anywhere on Earth (AoE), UTC -12 hrs.

Selection Criteria

Although the long-term influences of the nominee's work are taken into consideration, there should be a particular outstanding and trend-setting technical achievement that constitutes the principal claim to the award.  Successful Turing Award nominations include substantive letters of support from prominent individuals who are broadly representative of the candidate's field or related fields, and that provide clear evidence of the candidate’s lasting impact.


Nominations for the A. M. Turing Award should be submitted using the online nomination form.  Submitted materials should explain the contribution in terms understandable to a non-specialist.   Each nomination involves several components:
    • Name, address, phone number, and email address of nominator (person making the nomination). The most appropriate person to submit a nomination would be a recognized member of the community who is not from the same organization as the candidate and who can address the candidate’s impact on the broader community.
  • Name, address, and email address of the candidate (person being nominated). It is ACM’s policy not to tell candidates who has nominated or endorsed them.
  • Nominators will be required to indicate whether they are aware of any actions committed by the candidate that violates ACM's Code of Ethics or Core Values.
  • Suggested citation if the candidate is selected. This should be a concise statement (maximum of 25 words) describing the key technical or professional accomplishment for which the candidate merits this award. Note that the final wording for awardees will be at the discretion of the Award Committee.
  • Nomination statement (500-1000 words in length) addressing why the candidate should receive this award. This may describe the candidate’s work in general, but should draw particular attention to the contributions that merit the award.
  • Copy of the candidate’s CV, listing publications, patents, honors, service contributions, etc.
  • Supporting letters from at least 4, and not more than 8, endorsers. Endorsers should be chosen to represent a range of perspectives and institutions and provide additional insights or evidence of the candidate’s impact. Each letter must include the name, address, and telephone number of the endorser, and should focus on the accomplishments which that endorser can attest to and place in context.  The nominator should collect the letters and bundle them for submission. Please Note: Nominators will need to provide a valid email for each endorser. Endorsers will receive an email from acm-awards@acm.org containing a secure link to the Code of Ethics attestation form, and will be required to indicate whether they are aware of any actions committed by the candidate that violates ACM's Code of Ethics or Core Values.

For questions on the above, please contact us at ACM-Awards@acm.org , or  Jade Morris, ACM Awards Committee Liaison.  ACM's conflict-of-interest guidelines apply to all award nominations.

Full information on the ACM awards program.

Complete listing of A.M. Turing Award Laureates.